Rule # 7 of Love -Love Means To Be Happy Under All Circumstances

Necessities of life should be meager. “Plain living and high thinking” is an English proverb. Detachment in attachment is really needed. The happiest man is he who is happy under all circumstances.

– Ram Chandra of Shahjahanpur

I asked my toddler niece one day, what makes you happy. She stuck up her fingers and said, I like chocolates, ice-cream, blue colored nail polish, blue frock, pink hair clips, my dragon toys, … and eventually lost count of all of it in her fingers, and went into her own musings.

Edited_baby

So, while my niece muses, I would like to take you to Austria where Dame Julie Andrews sings of a few of her favorite things in the movie, “Sound of Music.” Remember the below song? So lovely, huh?!

I gently reminded my niece in the midst of her musings – “do they all make you happy? Or do you just like them?” She blinked at me for a few seconds. And said, “Ma and pa make me happy.”

Aha! She nailed it! Wise little lady! I didn’t even expect an answer from her.

A child has wisdom innately, intuitively. Liking a “thing” and possessing a “thing” gives gratification. But true happiness is when the heart is connected, when the heart is settled, when the heart is contented and is joyful. And for a child – that is indeed in the presence of it’s mother and father. I gave her a tight squeeze!

And we are happy when we possess things we like, and which we like to use, which gives us pleasure. We are unhappy when we do not. Very natural, of course! That is the way of the mind, you see. It is not wrong. However, when and how do we adapt ourselves to become truly happy always? That is needed. At least to avoid disappointments.

Shams Tabrizi in his Rule # 7 of Love said, “Whatever happens in your life, no matter how troubling things might seem, do not enter the neighborhood of despair. Even when all doors remain closed, God will open up a new path only for you. Be thankful! It is easy to be thankful when all is well. A Sufi is thankful not only for what he has been given but also for all that he has been denied.”

That is tricky to achieve, indeed. I do not have an explanation to lead you to that state. However, a state of cheerful acceptance, yielding heart and steadfast towards the Real goal  can be arrived at, said my friend ‘V’ in an email. And perhaps that could lead to happiness eventually. And even joy! Detaching happiness from material tangibility and fixating them towards higher purposes could be a start. Where would you like to start?

“Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.”– Helen Keller

On a personal note, I started my journey towards true happiness with Heartfulness Meditation, and sharing my experiences to help others in their journeys too – thereby finding true happiness and peace inwards in one’s own heart. My fidelity with the purpose of Heartfulness Meditation gives me joy, gives me happiness, to see a beautiful soul feel blissful and content… Would you like to try with me today?

Meditate daily, preferably at 6:30 a.m. local time, or at any other time and place of your convenience, using the following simple steps.

1.    Sit comfortably with your eyes closed. Be relaxed.

2.    Gently focus on your heart.

3.    Start with a suggestion that the Source of Divine Light is within your heart.

4.    Pray that the transmission is being received and is pulling your attention inward towards the heart.

5.    Meditate for 20 – 30 minutes.

Visit the website at www.heartfulness.org/mh to discover more.

unnamed.jpg

6 thoughts on “Rule # 7 of Love -Love Means To Be Happy Under All Circumstances

  1. Plain living and high thinking – Nice quote. I also like the statement from Sahaj Marg 10 maxims, “Be simple and in tune with Nature”. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

